have you guys heard of yamazuki brand?

hi guys.

is yamazuki any good?

have u guys even heard or played this brand's instruments???

i bumped on this yamazuki at a 2nd hand (used stuffs) store. it said 239 Singapore dollar. which is about 173 USD.

it's actually brand new, never been used before by the owner (so the shopkeeper said)

since i am completely new in this woodwind section, i'd like u guys give me some opinion. :-D (i dont even know what type the flute is, i think it's alto flute)

btw. this flute is for my cousin which is 13 years old. and from what i see, the flute is about 50cm in length. does it suit him well? what kind of flute do kids use for starter?

Hi and welcome Bilibili. The instrument you describe is probably not going to suit your cousin, or anyone for that matter, well. You usually have to spend a bit more to get an instrument that is playable both in terms of intonation and durability. Many a parent has tried to buy as cheap an instrument possible and that makes it very difficult for a student to achieve success.

I recommend student-level Yamaha flutes. There are even some nice student-level Armstrong's. But if you are looking at second-hand instruments, it would be nice to get a teacher to look at them with you. This could save your cousin a lot of grief down the road. I actually bought my grandson and wife a brand-new Gemeinhardt 3SHB for $300 that he is very happy with. I'm not sure if those deals are still on eBay anymore.

You get what you pay for. A cheap flute will most likely need immediate repairs before it will play. Reputable technicians will usually refuse to work on such an instrument because they know they can't make the customer happy.

Last edited:
wow, thanks.
this is one quick reply! hehe.

well, Gemeinhardt is a european brand isn't it?
i'll probably looking for some european brand here in singapore as well.

any brand that u can recommend?