Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Is this a Clarinet or the skeletal remains of an instrument? It's a mystery to me?

Straight up, I'm not a musician but I have a question that I thought this forum might answer. I recently picked up an old instrument that I thought was a clarinet. It has a nice old case with crocodile trim. The only mark I could find is a crest stamped into the mouthpiece with "Henri Selmer, Paris, Made in France, HS". The reed has Rico V-3 with a music symbol. The end of one piece pulls out and there is black string wrapped inside. I could not find any identifying marks on the rest of the parts. I think I have a bunch of random parts that don't add up to anything. Your feedback is welcome. thx! 100_3836.jpg 100_3828.jpg 100_3827.jpg

What you have there is a collection of disparate parts. In the first photo, the three items in the top row are (in order) two clarinet ligatures (used to hold the reeds on the mouthpiece) and a clarinet mouthpiece.

The item in the second row is the head joint of a pre-Boehm flute. Note the hole in the "side" of the joint; this is where the musician blows across the joint to generate the tone. The string is an older method (still used in some bassoons) to seal the connection between the instrument pieces.

The bottom item is the main body joint of the flute. Note the lack of "rings" around holes, the clearest feature of a modern Boehm flute. Instead, the "simple system" instruments just have an assortment of keys and pads, with a number of the keys having long touchpieces that parallel the bore of the instrument.

As a flute, it would be of interest to collectors, but of little other utility. Odds are that it is tuned to the old "high pitch" (A = 440+) and thus would not be able to play in tune with modern instruments.